top of page

Nea Onnim No Sua A Ohu: He who doesn't know can know from learning

A few years ago, I was living with my family in a village called Dwowbo. I was strong and brave and a respected citizen like the ancestors whose name I carry. I went to school when I was 5 years of age. In those days, children go to school in their own different clothes as there was no uniform or school dress.

My friends and I were taught how to write, learn, read storybooks and bible, draw and they taught us how to sing too. But, I didn't want to pay attention in class. Whenever my friends were busy learning, I didn't understand what the teacher was teaching and so I got lost in exams.

One day, I went to my class teacher and asked her if she can help me know how to read and write because I didn't pay attention in class whenever she was teaching and the teacher didn't mind me because I was not serious. I thought about these aims for sometime.

So, whenever I had nothing to do, I sat down with some books and started to read. And time goes well, I started reading very hard and even I was the first student in class.

One day, I took a bold and wise step. I went to my teacher's house. When I went there, the teacher was happy for me and said to me that if I carry on with my studies and good character as I have begun, I will help my country well in many great ways. And she also told me, “He who doesn't know can know from learning”. I thanked her and left.

This is the end of the story that I experienced in my life.

LESSON: The moral lesson I learned was that he who doesn't know anything in school, house and anywhere can learn and know so many things. It will help you to achieve your aims and goals in the future.

About the Author

Faustina Abo Nkrumah is a 15-year-old girl at Bantuma School. She comes from Takoradi in the western region of Ghana. During her free time, she likes to read and write stories and poems. She wants to be a teacher so that she can teach and help those who don't know but can know from learning so they can achieve their aims in the future.


bottom of page